At Gold Coast Schools, the most common question we receive is “How do I get a real estate license in Florida?” It’s a great question, and this article will fully explain the simple process based on Chapter 475 of the Florida Statutes which outlines the requirements for real estate licensure in Florida.
Becoming a new Florida real estate sales associate applicant without any real estate experience is easier than you think!
Your real estate license can be obtained in a few easy steps:
Step 1: Complete a 63-hour Sales Associate Pre-license course
This course can be taken from Gold Coast School of Real Estate in classroom or online formats with both English and Spanish options available.
Step 2: Submit a state application
Complete a state application and electronic fingerprints. The application can be completed online at MyFloridalicense or a hard copy of the application is available at any Gold Coast School of Real Estate location. Electronic fingerprints are also available at all Gold Coast locations. The application can be submitted either before or after the course is completed, however we recommend filing the application either before, or during class so that the state exam will be scheduled closer to the end of the course.
Step 3: Schedule the state exam
Once the application has been approved by the state of Florida, the applicant can schedule a state examination. The state exam can be scheduled through Pearson Vue , a local testing center.
Step 4: Pass the state exam
Once the candidate has passed the state exam, he or she has met all of the requirements for licensure.
Step 5: Putting your license to work
Once a candidate has passed the exam and become licensed, he or she is considered an inactive sales associate. In order to work, the licensee must find an employer (normally a broker) and place his or her license on active status with the broker. Gold Coast works with most of the top South Florida real estate companies and helps students find employment through the career opportunities website and by hosting career fairs at our 5 locations.
While most people will follow the above process, if the applicant has been actively licensed in another state or country for at least 24 months within the previous 5 years, the applicant may be able to skip licensure as a Florida real estate sales associate, and apply directly for a Florida real estate broker’s license. In addition, Florida has mutual recognition agreements with 8 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, Nebraska, and Oklahoma. Licensees from these 8 states who are interested in applying by mutual recognition should visit MyFloridalicense for full details on the application process.
If you have any questions about starting your real estate career in Florida, please contact Gold Coast Schools at 1-800-732-9140 or visit us online for more details. Our helpful Career Counselors are available to assist you from start to finish.